Oregon Passes Liability Insurance Coverage Law

In the recently completed session, the Oregon Legislature has passed a bill regarding motor vehicle liability insurance coverage, Insurance Journal reports.

HB 2385 requires self-insurers (e.g., rental car companies and car dealerships) to provide motor vehicle liability insurance coverage for their customers or other permitted users to meet the minimum financial responsibility requirements under the Motor Vehicle Code ($25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, $10,000 for property damage per accident, and uninsured motorist coverage).

Prior to this change, self-insurers had to meet minimum financial responsibility requirements under the Motor Vehicle Code, but they were not required to provide the same coverage for their customers or other permitted users.

Comment On This Story

Name:  
Email:  
Comment: (Max. 10000 characters)  
Please leave blank:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.

 
 

Newsletter: Sign up to receive latest news, articles, and much more.

Read the latest

Auto Focus Blog: A blog covering fleets, auto rental and the business of cars

Auto Manufacturers: Mobility Disruptors or Fleet Providers?

Maven’s Alex Keros shares insights into evolving smart mobility business models and new opportunities with fleet management.

What is Your Time Worth?

Personal observations of retail and travel transactions reveal just how much a consumer’s time is worth today, and how increasingly intolerant we are of inefficient transactions.

Safeguarding Your Business with Brokers

While the high-profile bankruptcy of Atlas Choice has left many car rental companies wary of working with brokers, rental companies can take steps to protect themselves and ensure a productive relationship.

Job Finder: Access Top Talent. Fill Key Positions.

>